Lily Dewaruile

Ychydig o Hanes Cymru / A Little Welsh History
Ychydig o Gymraeg a Diwylliant Cymreig / A Little Welsh Language & Culture
Llawer o Ramant y Cymry / A Lot of Welsh Romance

Recent Release:

Pendyffryn: The Inheritors  Justice, Book 1

DeFreveille, the Conqueror, is conquered. His children have the home he sought and war goes on. Now, it is time for his second son, Marshal mab Ieuan, to find his own way in the country of his heart. But to lose his heart here cannot be part of his plan.

Pendyffryn: The Inheritors: Justice. Hard won. Easily lost.

To prepare his daughter, Tanglwys, for a future without his protection, Meinor Hedydd contracts with Gwennan Pendyffryn to take her as an apprentice in the Conqueror’s Gaer household to learn skills that will be of use to others and a source of income for her. The presence of another dependent fostered child affects Gwennan’s stepson, Marshal deFreveille, in a way that is not entirely unwelcome as he begins his own training to become a soldier in his father’s army.

From the beginning of their acquaintance, Tanglwys and Marshal face hatred and intolerance. A fateful encounter at the river sparks more than his protective inclination toward her but, when Marshal punishes her brother and his friends for tormenting Tanglwys, their budding friendship falters.

A stranger still, and hated for his valor and skill, Marshal faces the first of his most difficult challenges when he falls in love with his sworn enemy’s sister.

Her brother’s resentment and loathing for the Conqueror’s son are fierce. His violence toward Tanglwys for causing the incident at the river leads to his demotion to the lowest ranks of soldiery. In fear of her brother and to appease her mother’s hatred, Tanglwys denies her growing admiration for the Conqueror’s son until their false allegations threaten to destroy him.

Now available on Amazon, Barnes&Noble, iBookstore, Kobo, Smashwords

Y Cyfresi / The Series

Y Tywi

The first novel in this series, Traitor’s Daughter, was published in May 2011. A second novel in the series, Vengeance’s Son, is planned for the Fall of 2020.


Following the publication of Traitor’s Daughter, I published five novels in the Pendyffryn: The Conquerors series, chronicling the invasion of Cymru by mercenaries from the continent of Europe around 870AD. Though fictitious, the opening series mirrors events some 250 years prior when the Teutonic Anglo-Saxons invaded the eastern coast  of Britain, part of the Welsh-speaking, Celtic country now known as the countries of England, Scotland, Wales, Cornwall, Isle of Mann. Pendyffryn is also a precursor to the Norman Invasion, beginning 200 years later in 1066.

The final novel in The Conquerors series, Reconciliation, is partially set in the Mideastern Christian country of Armenia, in the 9th Century, and is the love story of the mercenary, Gilles de Maides, and Rizah, a captured Armenian girl, Christophe Maides’s parents.

The second part of the series, Pendyffryn: The Inheritors, begins with Justice. Merit, the second in the series, is planned for the Spring of 2020.

Dyffryn Tywi

This is a new series that features novels set along the Tywi River, which takes inspiration from the valley that was the birthplace of some of Cymru’s best known heroes. Although all of my novels and characters are fictional, the spirit of the stories and their characters are born of my love of this small country, its phenomenal people whose impact on the history of the world has been disproportionally tremendous, and the beauty of its rivers, valleys and mountains.


Abaty Tintern Abbey